Tony Irvine

Tony Irvine commenced a career in Local Government from September 1991 and has been a Chief Executive Officer in Local Government from 1993 to 2020 (except for a break of twelve months in 2011 where he managed his own consulting business).

He is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, an Associate of the Institute of Municipal Management, member of the Local Government Managers of Australia and a Justice of Peace (since September 1992).

He has had experience in State Government (Education and SA Water from February 1974 to September 1991) along with interests in his family’s company whilst being employed in other industries. Tony retired from the workforce in January 2020 and has continued his volunteering and board memberships.

He has been involved in many local and regional volunteer organisations mainly in the community sports area from the 1980’s until the present day. He is a Life Member of the Ceduna Sporting Club and was recent Chairperson of the Eyre Peninsula Football Council from Sept 2019 to mid-2021. He was also a recent Deputy Chairperson of the Port Lincoln Race Club Board from Sept 2012 to Sept 2021.

He currently holds the following positions:

  • Chairperson of the Collins Family Foundation since September 2021 (Supporting disadvantaged youth).
  • Board Member of the EP Landscape Board (since April 2020) and was an inaugural Board Member of the Eyre Peninsula NRM Board from January 2005 to January 2009.
  • Patron of the Eyre Peninsula Community Foundation since October 2018

He is one of the founding directors of the Eyre Peninsula Community Foundation (Steering Committee & Director from March 2004 to October 2012)and was extensively involved in the establishment of the foundation.

His focus in retirement is to assist his community and region better prepare for the future. He also plans to enjoy the company of friends and family on a more regular basis.

He was recently awarded an Order of Australia Medal in the Queens Honours list (June 2021) for his services to Local Government and the communities of Eyre Peninsula


Glen Karutz

Raised on a farming property at Wirrulla, Eyre Peninsula, Glenn left in 1970, and commenced work in a chartered accounting firm. He gained a Bachelor of Arts in Accounting and is a Chartered Accountant, providing business advice in a variety of business sectors. Glenn became managing partner of the Port Lincoln, Adelaide and Sydney offices of his firm and spent over 35 years in this career before  retiring in Port Lincoln in 2008.

Active involvement in the community: past member of the Regional Development Australia Whyalla and EP Board; past President and current Member of Rotary, past Director of the Port Lincoln Bendigo Community Bank and past Member of the board of management at Ravendale Community Sports Centre. A life member of Apex Clubs Australia, Tasman Football Club and a Paul Harris Fellow of Rotary.

Presently  serving as one of 4 chairman of the Port Lincoln Rotary Club for the 2020/21 year. Currently on the committees of the Lincoln Auto Club and Southern Eyre justices Association  in the capacity of treasurer.

From 2008 until June 2020 was  a member of the Board of the Sarin Group of Companies. He is also a Justice of the Peace. Glen was a Director of the Eyre Peninsula Community Foundation from November 2008 to November 2013 including roles as Chair and Treasurer.

Marie Lally AM

Marie with her husband Kevin have farmed their properties in the Lock, Kopi & Warramboo districts for almost 40 years before retiring to Tumby Bay in 2007, and then Port Lincoln in 2019. She was a Director of the Eyre Peninsula Community Foundation from October 2009 to November 2017.

Marie’s dedication to her community and the agriculture industry is evident in the long list of roles she has had on boards and panels over the years. A number of the panels and boards she has served on are – the SA Arts Council for the EP Region; the Lock Health and Welfare Community Board; the South Australian Country Women’s Association going on to be the State President and then later the National President serving from 2000-2003; she was invited to be a member of the Rural Women’s advisory Council to the Deputy Prime Minster. She was the SA representative on the National Rural Health Alliance Friends Advisory Committee and Chair of the National Conference held in SA in 2013; Member of the Lower Eyre Health Advisory Council and an active member of the Tumby Bay Hospital and Uringa Auxiliary. In 2008 Marie became a director on the Australian Year of the Farmer Ltd.

Marie’s achievements are not limited to – being awarded Citizen of the Year for the Elliston District Council in 1998; awarded the Centenary Medal of Federation of Australia in 2003, for outstanding service to women in Rural Australia; and in 2004 Marie was appointed a Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia AM.

Follow us on Facebook to stay up to date with our most recent projects, events & announcements.

The Eyre Peninsula Community Foundation acknowledges and pays respect to the Traditional Custodians of the land on which we live and work. We extend our respect to Elders past, present and emerging, and recognise the continuing connection to lands, waters and communities of all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.